Hey tamaripgh.com, Get It Together

I’ve made no secret about how much I really love Tamari. But that website… oy! Tamari, let’s have a conversation. Meet me in the next paragraph.

Flash? Really? Sure, that might’ve been acceptable for a trendy restaurant website in 2007, but in 2011 it’s just lame. You do realize that roughly 70% of your patrons are carrying iPhones which will never run Flash, right? So when you load the page you get a beautiful black screen that does nothing. Solid. And on my computer, I just really love waiting for that animation to load. Did I mention I love background music for websites? So classy. Way to hide the “stop music” button, too. You don’t want to make that too easy to find. And why does the menu have to be a separate PDF? Just make it a regular page. Did I mention the whole thing is ugly, too? ‘Cause it is.

So you’ve got an ugly, poorly functional, annoying website that doesn’t even work for a sizeable subset of your patrons. Time for a redesign. I’d be remiss if I didn’t give you an example: saltpgh.com. Simple, functional, attractive, and works great on a smartphone.

So anyway, sorry to have to be so harsh about this. The truth hurts. But I’ll be seeing you tomorrow night so it’s all good.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Out and About

Leave a comment