Penn Ave Fish Company and Winghart’s Burgers

Added the review for Penn Ave Fish Company. I’m not sure how refined my sushi palate is, but this is some of the best I’ve had. We had dinner once at the downtown location, and the entrees are really fanstastic. It’s a nice atmosphere, too, and BYOB. Definitely a good spot for a nice dinner that you wouldn’t normally think about.

Finally got to Winghart’s for the burger. I have to admit, I was blown away. The owner is a butcher and supposedly came up with the blend for the meat. It’s really good. Rarely have I found a burger cooked on a griddle, diner-style, to have such a strong beefy flavor. Lots of salt in the blend, which helps. It’s also one of the best buns you’ll ever have on a burger. These guys are doing it right. My big issue with the place, which I mentioned in the review, is that the space is just really not conducive to a restaurant. I’d love to be able to sit at a table and enjoy that burger, but you don’t have the option. It’s either a crowded bar or a few high-boy tables in the back. Anyway, that brought the place down to 3 stars. I debated this, but since I’ve bumped up other places for having great atmosphere, it’s only fair. If anyone tries the pizzas let me know what they think. Also, rumor has it they’re opening a location in the South Side.

I’m working on a long burger post, since I think I’ve hit the majority of the Pittsburgh burger spots. You’ll probably be surprised with my favorite. Oh, if you’re wondering, I haven’t tried Burgh’ers. Harmony  just a little too far to be considered Pittsburgh, in my opinion.

Oh, if you want to try something delicious, check out the basic bacon breafkast taco at Smoke. Unreal. This place just continues to amaze.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Reviews, Out and About, Site News

Leave a comment