Meat and Taters, Plum, and Alma added

Long time without updates, I know. I kept thinking I’d post the big burger review but then Meat and Potatoes opened and I didn’t feel like I could do it before I tried their burger. Long story short, they make a good burger but nothing to write home about.

I put up the review for Meat and Potatoes, anyway. The restaurant is surprisingly small, which explains why you can never get a reservation. But honestly, this is the kind of place you just want to grab a seat at the bar anyway. The food is good, don’t get me wrong, but it’s not amazing. I had the steak tacos the other day and they were very greasy. My fiancee had the truffle risotto, though, and that was really delicious. So it’s hit and miss. A friend of mine says that the flat iron steak is good, but I haven’t tried it yet. Anyway, I’ll keep going to this place because they make such a mean Old Fashioned… but if you expect it to rock your world, like I did, you’ll be disappointed.

Alma Pan Latin, however, was a real pleasant surprise. Just really fantastic food. Their scallops appetizer is delicious. I’ve had a few of their steak dishes and really liked all of them. And most of the entrees are below $20, making this a relative bargain. Try it, you won’t be disappointed.

I also put up a review for Plum in Shadyside, which is very solid pan-asian. Good sushi, too. I do find it to be inconsistent, though. Sometimes the food is undersalted. Luckily, it’s asian food so you can just add soy sauce.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under New Reviews, Out and About

Leave a comment