Brgr Should Be Bttr

The review is now up for Brgr. Ultimately, I’m disappointed in the place. The atmosphere is great and it’s a perfect concept – gourmet burgers, alcoholic milkshakes, and good beer. But, again, it fails in its execution of the basic burger. Sure, you can get a burger with pastrami or short ribs or guacamole, but (and listen up Burgatory, because this applies to you, too) a restaurant that specializes in burgers should be able to make a burger that can impress me on its own. Neither Brgr or Burgatory does that.

I’d actually say that Brgr’s standard burger is more disappointing than Burgatory’s. At 6oz, it’s not big.  That’s not necessarily an issue, however when you put it onto an enormous brioche bun, it gets swallowed up. Either they need to make the burgers bigger or the buns smaller. Also, it’s a pretty bland burger. I hardly got any of the beefy taste I look for.  Like Burgatory’s, it’s undersalted. On my second trip I chose the “Button Buster,” which puts short ribs on top of the burger. This was actually delicious. The short ribs gave the burger the beefy taste that the plain burger lacks. (On a side note, why would a trendy restaurant put something on their menu called the “Button Buster?” It’s no less healthy than most of the other options, and yet you feel ashamed to order it. Not smart.)

The atmosphere at Brgr is great. I loved it when it the space was 2Red, and they really haven’t changed it much. The upstairs seating area is great, too. It’s definitely a good place to go and I’m sure I’ll be there often.  Just don’t go expecting a great burger if you don’t jazz it up a little with one of their less traditional options.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Reviews, Out and About

Leave a comment