The Hofbrauhaus Experience

Despite having eaten and drunk (drunken?) there a dozen or so times, I still don’t have a review up for the Hofbrauhaus. Quite frankly, I just don’t know how to review it. I could make good arguments for giving it anywhere between 2 and 4 stars. First, the atmosphere is pretty unique. In the winter, it’s a huge drinking hall. In the spring/summer/fall, it’s a huge drinking hall, a huge porch, and an enormous outdoor seating area. All told, the maximum capacity feels fairly comparable to PNC Park. On weekend nights, the main hall features a German band, drunk patrons standing on their tables, and everyone singing along to the drinking songs. Definitely a good time, especially if you’re with a big group.

The beer is all brewed in-house. There’s a good variety, as well as a rotating “beer of the month.” It’s served in half-liter and one-liter steins, which are very reasonably priced. The food, on the other hand, is harder to describe. I like a few of their appetizers, especially the soft pretzels with beer cheese. The fried pickles aren’t anything special. They do make good french fries, but that’s not all that difficult.

In terms of the traditional German food, I honestly have no interest in it whatsoever. I’ve tried the wursts and a few of the chicken dishes, and they taste fine… but nothing I ever have a desire for. So I guess I’ll defer to people who have more experience and/or desire for German food. Maybe it’s good? Judge for yourself. As far as the American food, Hofbrauhaus takes uninspired to a whole new level. Say what you will about the Cheesecake Factory across the street, but they do have some pretty interesting and tasty burgers and sandwiches. Now imagine TGI Fridays or Ruby Tuesday, only way more boring. That’s the American menu at Hofbrauhaus. Again, nothing tastes bad, but it’s just so bland and… well, yeah.

So there’s my dilemma. It’s a great atmosphere that’s a lot of fun. The beer is decent and not too expensive. The sandwiches and burgers pretty much suck. And the German food may or may not be good – I have no idea. That’s my take. Oh, and I’ll be there tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Out and About

Leave a comment